I am probably the last person anyone would ask for advice on how to deal with nerves. I’m someone who has trouble with presentations, talking on the phone and meeting new people. That being said, I’ve come a long way from where I was before and I think my methods of tricking myself into thinking a situation is a lot less scary have proved beneficial.

When I know I have something nerve-wracking to do, I like to calm myself down first and then hype myself up. One or two days before the situation, I tend to have myself a really good at home pamper session. I’ll do hair masks, face masks, exfoliate, just really treat my skin which gives me a rather clear mind while I do all of this. The on the day of, I’ll have a playlist of some of my favorite music (the louder the better), so that any negative thoughts that may try to poke through are drowned out.

It may seem rather simple, and that’s because it is. Sometimes what can seem like a monumentally bad situation is just something we’re not used to. New opportunities are scary. At times it may seem like all you can do is look on from the outside and never really cope or manage to find the  courage to do what you ultimately know you need to do. I’ve been there. A lot. I’ve found that having someone in your corner, people who are going to be there no matter what the outcome of the scary thing, are so important to have.

Many times, all we need is someone who believes in our abilities even when we don’t believe in ourselves. I write this today because there are a lot of things to be nervous about in the future. The important thing is that we don’t get too caught up in the distance and forget about what is right in front of us.

Take a deep breath. Remember that it’s ok to be scared sometimes. But never let fear prevent you from reaching your full potential.

