You know what I’m talking about. When you feel like you want to do something but you’re not quite certain what that thing is. For a long time whenever I felt that itch, I would write. Now writing doesn’t get it done anymore. I feel like I need to get out of my little bubble and try to conquer some of the things that give me anxiety.

Last weekend, I got behind the wheel of a car for the first time in maybe a year or two. I think I’ll start with that and work my way up to bigger things that scare me.

I’ve started reading again which is great. I find that when I’m in a slump, or what I call a slump which is thinly veiled depression, I lose interest in everything I once loved which is why I hopped off writing for a while. Then it was reading, listening to music, even talking to my friends became more of a chore than something I actually wanted to do. I’m glad to say that I’m starting to break those habits and am starting to enjoy these things again.

But we were talking about things that make you itch, now weren’t we? I think my itch may be driving. I always have dreams about getting into accidents which really turn me off from wanting to, but my daydreams are always about taking road trips with my best friends on a small getaway from our city. Just for a while. I think I’ll go for a drive tomorrow and see where the roads take me (and if they can ultimately take me back home as well).

I think the itch is there to remind us that sometimes when you fall into a funk or a slump or undiagnosed depression, there is always something underlying that can work its way to helping us overcome it. And although it may not be immediate and it may take some time and frustration and tears, ultimately its worth it.

