What to write when you don’t know what to write, but you know you need to keep writing in order for you to accurately and cohesively string together a group of words in a manner that makes sense to other people besides yourself. Write the word write a bunch of times and hope something comes to you. Free write just to get the ideas that are blocking your ability out-of-the-way, to clear your mind, and hey look at that now you’re writing.

There may not be a particular destination in this piece, it’s just an exercise in writing no matter what you think is stopping you. I have a tendency to say tomorrow, but I thought back to 7th grade and how my English teacher used to make us do a free write every morning. I used to think it was pointless and now when I think back to all the things I once thought pointless I realize how useful they’ve become in my adult life. Things that may have been tucked away in my memory tend to come back when I least expect it, but always when I need it. I’ve been thinking about who I want to be lately. What kind of person I want to be in the future. I’m happy with who I am as a person, but I want to help more than I already do.

I’ve been thinking about what I want to do in the future and my passion has always been law, criminal and social justice and helping people. I’m finding it difficult to place my finger on just what jurisdiction that leaves me in. I’m determined to make something of myself. Someone I can be proud of.

I’m writing for the sake of writing because I feel like I’ve lost my voice, not literally but figuratively in that I don’t know what to say anymore. I also don’t know how to say it anymore. So I’m going to write in the hopes of reclaiming my voice and I’m going to write in order to free these intrusive thoughts from my head. I always wonder if writing with the off-chance that nobody is going to read it is like screaming into the void.

The things we write need to be for ourselves first and then for others. We write as a reflection of who we are or what the world has shown us. Or maybe we write both. I think this ramble has gone on long enough.

 

